• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Traditional Versus Modern

jperk1966

I have been training in Karate, Tae Kwon do and Jui Jitsu for over thirty years now. I recently went to a tournament which was sponsored by several large sport martial arts associations. I couldn't believe what I saw! The forms divisions looked more like a gymnastics competition. The weapons division looked like something out of "The Last Dragon" and the Sparring looked like a game of tag.

What has happened to the martial arts? I come from the old USKA and AKA circuits. When we sparred we went for it!! If you knocked out your opponent you won not get disqualified. Forms had practical application and the student knew the application of the form too. Form competetion is not all about how high you can jump or how pretty your uniform is. Many of us "Old Schoolers" want to see the old competitions come back and I hope they do before martial arts in whole suffers a black eye it will never recover from.

6th Dan USA Goju

2nd Dan Shorin Ryu

Black Sash Sil Lum Kung Fu

Sensei James Perkins

http://www.worldmartialartsunion.us

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I believe it's going to get a whole lot worse before it ever gets better.

It's easy to blame it all on money, but that's what I choose. There's much more money in pandering to six year olds than teaching karate. Adults don't care about learning how to fight - they want a gym that gives them self-esteem. Most dojos have become day care centers and tournaments are just excuses for "organizations" to give away plastic trophies for their overcharged students.

The good thing is, if you stay away from the tournaments - there's still some good schools out there; they just stay out of the tournament circuit for the same things you witnessed when you went!

JPerk,