• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Many Judoka utilise arm locks, chokeholds and strangleholds. Maneuveurs like leglocks were removed due to the dangerous nature of the techniques, as was the torso strangle (Do-Jime). But I have never heard of any rules in Judo competition regarding the use of Neck Locks, locks that work on the muscles on the neck, not the windpipe or blood vessels. Just the muscles, probably bone also. I understand the dangers of employing such techniques, but did Judo ever possess Neck Locks, and are there any rules against it. Mike Swain once said how cross training in other grappling arts was excellent, because those techniques could easily cross over into Judo competition, provided they did not break the rules (e.g. leg locks).

I started studying Catch Wrestling a while ago, and we were taught Neck Locks, which never even occured to me that they existed. Given Mike Swain's statement, I thought it would be a good idea to use such locks in Judo competition, especially from positions like Kesa-Gatame.

However, not knowing the presence of Neck Locks in Judo, how are they regarded as such? Are Neck Locks allowed? Are Neck Locks taught in todays Judo curriculum? Or were they taught in the past and then removed?

The Judo I refer to in this post is Kodokan. However, if anyone has information regarding Kosen Judo, your responses would be most welcome.

Thanx

Superfoot.

Perfect Practice makes Perfect.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

If you blatantly do them in shiai you will be issued hansokumake and you will lose the match.

From Section 27 30b of the IJF rules

(30) To make any action which may endanger or injure the opponent especially the opponent's neck or spinal vertebrae, or may be against the spirit of Judo.

http://www.ijf.org/rule/rule_referee.php?Code=2#Prohibitedactsandpenalties