• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

using NUNCHUCKS...

Kill Jill

I just started learning how to use the nunchuks about 4 months ago in my Hapkido class.

As I have limited communication with my Korean teacher, I am unable to find out his ideas about using nunchuks. I looked for some info on the web, and have a little more insight into them, but some questions still remain:

Is there a specific attack type that nunchuks are intended to defend against? It seems to me, that if your flailing nunchuks strike any surface while in high speed motion, the nunchuk holder is also going to be at risk of getting as badly hurt as the assailant, therefore making it an ineffective weapon.

Also, is there a set repertoire of 'forms' similar to TKD forms? I've seen nunchuks used in a couple of schools here, and the forms used are very different. Perhaps each instructor makes his own set of forms? Can anyone recommend a good 'form' to learn? What makes an expert nunchuck-ist?

Finally, are nunchuks just simply a tool which focuses the mind, rather than being a serious weapon? I know I need 100% concentration when using the 'chucks otherwise one slip of attention, and it's all over... Being quite 'thin on flesh', I come out black and blue each time I practice with them as it is.

:idea:

So, any nunchuck tips will be appreciated...

There are no limits.

http://taekwondodiaries.blogspot.com

^^*

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic