• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Am I too old?

Firebison

I brought my 5 year old son to watch a Karate class and he really seemed anxious to try it. The instructor was highly recomended by reputable word of mouth, so I trust his advice. However, I was a little let down when the instructor told me that the class would be so much more benificial for my son if I were to take class with him. I am a 35 year old Firefighter/Paramedic who is in good shape, so i feel like I could benefit from the training, but I almost felt like he was after more money. Like I said though, this seems very unlikely since he was so highly recomended by other students whom I know personally.

I must admit that I have been thinking about little else lately and have a sense of excitement about getting started. I've always wanted to get involved in martial arts, but missed the boat many times over. Am I too old to really get involved? Should I enroll just for my son's sake? Any advice for would be greatly appreciated.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Am I too old to really get involved?

No, i have instructed people as old as their 70's... and not tai chi. Granted, it might be harder for you to grasp some things, but you'll find other things much easier to grasp. Considering your career, i gather you'll have a pretty good grasp of how to handle the adrenal surge. This is a 'huge' advantage, as you'll eventually find out.

Should I enroll just for my son's sake?

obviously since you're interested in learning, it's not 'merely' for your son's sake. ;)

Any advice for would be greatly appreciated.

To be blunt, just because he's being referred to you by his students doesn't guarantee he's offering a quality product. After all, they are students...