• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Kyokushin questions for those who know a lot.

Jbone1

I been on this site for a couple years and it's been very informative. I seen this movie the other day that looks like it was made in the 70's called Fighting Black Kings. It's about Kyokushin tournaments and fighters.

I studied the matches and noticed no punches or any hand/arm techniques to the face or head. But you sure can get kicked in the dome real good...wow some of those blows.. :o

Anyway, I would like to know the history all the way to the current about this system that seems to be very powerful and close to real situation bouts.

"What's your style?"

"My style?"

"You can call it the art of fighting without fighting."

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

http://www.google.com.au/search?sourceid=navclient&ie=UTF-8&rls=GGLD,GGLD:2005-02,GGLD:en&q=kyokushin+history - That should contain lots of websites with info on kyokushin and its founder, Mas Oyama.

https://www.kyokushinkarate.cjb.net - here you can find kata.

My Nidan Grading! Check it Out: http://www.karateforums.com/viewtopic.php?t=27140

OSU!

"Behind each triumph are new peaks to be conquered." - Mas Oyama

Dojo Kun:http://www.diegobeltran.com/htms/dojo/dojokun.htm

https://www.kyokushinkarate.cjb.net

What you've asked is sure to raise a few mixed answers.

When MasOyama Sosai was only 18 he killed another man with a single punch to the head.

Kyokushin fights bare-knuckle.

This probably plays a strong part in why we no longer compete with punches to the head.

Originally, (in the 1950-60's) MasOyama Sosai's fighting tournaments were no-holds-barred, with basically any strike, lock or throw allowed.