• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I guess I should intorduce myself...

aruder

Hello to everyone on the boards...

My name is Aaron Ruder. I'm a college student at a small college in Central Illinois, studying to be a High school teacher. I've been training for several years now, and I think that the martial arts is one of the best things I have ever done. I hope to be always learning and seeking new knowledge, both in the martial arts and life.

About my school:

I think my school is rather unique as far as dojos go.

Several years ago, when I was a freshman in highscool, a new English teacher, Mr. Chianakas, began the Martial Arts club. There are only a few Highschool martial arts clubs in existance, and of those that we have contacted, ours is the most active.

Sensei Chianakas is a third degree blackbelt in Okinawan Shuri Ryu Karate, first degree in Tae Kwon Do, and I believe a brown belt in Judo. Sensei left his old Shuri Ryu school (the largest school in the area with several locations, including right here in town) for many reasons.

Our main instruction then is about 90% Shuri Ryu Karate, with several Judo techniques at each rank, and extra TKD kicks and drills. A black belt from Sensei Chianakas is everything that it would be at another Shuri Ryu school and more. We also have the the XMA program, and have had a seminar with Mike Chat, as well as Wu Shu and Pressure point seminars. We were allowed weapons training when the club began, but after complaints from some overly concerned parents, the school board asked us to discontinue weapons training. Recently, Sensei was able to convince the school board to allow the bo through the XMA program, but as a "performance tool" only.