• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

question for the kick boxers and boxers...

i'm a wrestler, and was good in HS, and now i'm taking MMA classes.

Yesterday was my second lesson and I was surprised when the instructor had my spar already, especially when I'm new to punching, kicking and guard defense.

Anyways, what I really struggled with during this exercise was defending both kicks and punches. The instructor said don't look at my eyes, but what do I then look at? I'm having a hard enough time just straight up boxing let alone defending kicks as well.

Any advice?

For my boxing question. What do you do when you have to box someone who is over 5 inches taller than you?

Also, what is the best defense to someone coming at you?

thanks

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

look at the uppoer torso. You will be able to see his arms and legs via your peripheral vision. When you look only at the eyes, it's easy to lose track of the legs. In time, you will learn to read their shoulder and hip movement in order to determine what is coming.

When boxing against a taller guy, remember mike tyson in his prime... He was a master at making angles. He would slip inside of the other guy and eat their lunch with his body shots and uppercuts. slip and make angles. Fast head movement and footwork.

There really is no best defense - everyone has their own preference. There is a worst defense though - NEVER move continually backward.

• 3 weeks later...