• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Ultimate Fighting

As you may know, there is a martial arts style known as Ultimate fighting or "mixed martial arts" where the rules are very lax in terms of what is allowed, however the goal is simple: Score the most points, or knock out the opponent. Many consider this to be the true test of a martial art, because its basically anything goes. While there is some Karate used, most Ultimate fighters say they rely mainly on brazilian Ju-jitsu, kick boxing, and wrestling.

There is often debate about how well a person would do "on the street" equiped with training in a specific martial art. Well anyone who knows this sport would probably agree that these guys (ultimate figthers) would do very well in that area.

Im new to the martial arts world and I was wondering what you people think that says about other martial arts, that when it comes down to it, when the objective is to take down the opponent at all costs, they choose brazilian ju-jitsu.

The Pain is only in the Mind

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Martial arts have evolved over the centuries in accordance with what was demanded of them. This means that they all came into their own at one point or another and are far from being equal.

Take for example, Japanese Ju Jitsu which taught many of the samurai how to utlize their array of weaponry, but after wars died out in Japan, became more and more focused on the unarmed combat aspect of fighting.

Boxing started out bareknuckle before gloves were eventually introduced. If you've ever wondered why the old boxers stood and punched weird, it was because the punching technique was slightly different in bareknuckle boxing- punching like boxers of today in a bareknuckle match gives more power, but heightens the risk of fracturing your hand.