• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Do you regrip?

Skeptic 2004

Do you adjust your grip to keep a tight fist at all times?  

31 members have voted

1. 1. Do you adjust your grip to keep a tight fist at all times?

• Yes, we've been taught to keep a tight fist for all closed hand techniques (Yes)
    • What the heck are you talking about? You're supposed to be loose all over until impact! (No)
    • Chibana, Ohtsuka, and Motobu? Who are these guys? (Huh?)

One of the many, many things that I have been beaten over the head with recently is keeping a tight fist at all times for closed hand techniques while keeping all other muscles relaxed until impact. In order to ensure a tight fist, constant regripping becomes necessary.

Seeing how I had never heard of this before I started training with my current instructor, I thought it was a quirk peculiar to him. And then he showed me a 1965 video of Chosin Chibana performing Patsai Dai. Sure enough, before each closed hand technique, Chibana relaxed his hands and then regripped, in order to form and keep a tight fist. I gave my instructor the benefit of the doubt and thought that maybe it was just something peculiar to Chibana and that it had passed to my instructor who was passing it to me. And then I saw a 1965 video of Hironori Ohtsuka performing all the Wado Ryu kata. Sure enough, this guy regripped too! I saw video of Chokki Motobu's son, Chomei, performing kata, and he regripped (though not as often as Chibana and Ohtsuka)!

In short after the maybe unnecessary historical references, I want to know do any of you guys regrip to keep a tight fist? Do you keep a tight fist at all?

Do you know who Chosin Chibana is...?

The Chibana Project:

http://chibanaproject.blogspot.com

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic