• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Hi from So Cal

sifumary

Hi,

Like to introduce myself. I am a 43 yr old mom with teenagers. I have 1st degree black belt in American Kenpo karate. I also have a 6 kyu in Shotokan and have dabbled in Tae kwon do and Jeet kun do. I am also a yoga instructor, recently certified last February. I have learned so much from my yoga teachers forum that I thought it was time to join a karate forum.

I have taught kenpo karate classes for ages 4 to adult but had to leave my dojo a few years ago due to personal problems with the owner. Recently, I've been asked to start a preschool (ages 4-5) and a junior class (ages 6-10) for our park and rec center this coming January. I'd like to get some advice on teaching these groups and any other helpful hints I can find on teaching 8 week courses.

Any other "park and rec" teachers out there?

Mary W.

Remember to Remember

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Welcome Mary :D

In regards to teaching pre-school age kids, my buddy who teaches them that young would start out by giving them 5 chores to do at home to "earn" their white belt that came with their uniform.

He would give them a piece of paper with 5 blank lines and just have their parents write in the 5 things they did at home, like clean up their toys, brush their teeth, feed the pet, etc.

The next class time, they bring back their paper and if its all filled out, they get their belt.

Next he would have everyone sit in a circle with him, and introduce themselves. Next he goes over the "karate" rules.....raise you hand to ask a question, bow in/out of mat, no horse playing. Once he goes over the rules, he'll start the next class the same way and start to ask the kids if they can remember any of the rules. Suprisingly it works great.