• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Dealing with mentally handicapped children

I am an assistant instructor at my dojo, and in one of the classes, we have a child who has a mental handicap. He complains about how stretching and doing stances hurt. He will say, "This huuuuuuuurts!" and he wont sit properly during seiza, fidgets, complains, and frequently will not listen to instructions.

While some of this is not his fault (short attention spam, etc.), what should he be held responsible for doing? How hard should I be on him?

"What we do in life, echoes in eternity."

"We must all fear evil men. But there is another kind of evil which we must fear most, and that is the indifference of good men."

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

In my experience with mental handicaps if you just treat them like people and not illnesses they respond phenomonaly.

O Sensei said that everyone has a defined sphere of strength and if you can get them outside that sphere then their strength will disappear. I say, EXPAND YOUR SPHERE!

We try to treat him normally, but he often wont listen to directions and will loudly complain. We can't treat him like a normal person if he wont act that way.

"We must all fear evil men. But there is another kind of evil which we must fear most, and that is the indifference of good men."