• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I am a Kung Fu student, planning to enter a Karate competiti

ClA

http://www.goldcupcircuit.com/

I live in San Francisco, I am a ShaoLin style student.

I visited a few Karate competitions (point based) and found it very exciting. I know it's open karate and they welcome all styles. I see TKD students joining these events.

My question is, would my status as a Kung Fu Style student affect anything?? I don't have a belt...........maybe I can buy a belt color that reflect my experience level??

TKD and Karate uniforms looks the same..........but not Kung Fu.........we just wear T-shirts when we train..........do i have to buy a Karate uniform??

I have read all the rules http://www.goldcupcircuit.com/rules.shtml and gained more understanding of these events.

My goal is to be part of the fun. There is no need to compare styles because i don't see better "styles", only better "fighters".

Another question is, Kung Fu style has a push kick (like MT kick boxing) that goes after the other person kicking leg. I that allowed in these events?? Because it makes a world of difference in how we fight.

(see picture)

http://www.ukwingchun.com/assets/photos/nathan_jaywant.jpg

Thank you very much for your input.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Strange.

You show an image of a kick being done by two kids practicing wing chun. First of all, I've yet to see a Shaolin student do a kick like that. Secondly, it works nothing like the how Muay Thai people kick.

If you've never done point sparring before, you are either going to get disqualified very quickly or beaten very quickly. Best thing to do is to go and download some point sparring videos and read the rules again.

earth is the asylum of the universe where the inmates have taken over.

don't ask stupid questions and you won't get stupid answers.