• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Can Budo really be taught in today's society?

shinteki

Greetings

I am new to this form thing, however I am no stranger to the budo arts. I have a simple question that is stated in the title of this thread. After teaching karate for more than two devades I must say that I find it harder and harder to teach budo...real budo these days. I don't know if that is such a bad thing, its just my observation.

Thank you

Sensei Sherman herill said this the best, "real budo is like life, sometimes its going to hurt a little bit."

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

It's interesting, I was thinking about something similar to this a few days ago.

I think that budo is like religion, in a way; it seems like you have less followers, but you have to remember that it's a good cause, a good thing we do.

Thus far, I've been taught to expect the unexpected with respect to karate, but even though there is a good chance that we karateka will never use our skills, you just never know.

Even though it seems harder and harder to teach (and even learn) budo nowadays, keep in mind that dojos are still up and running, and that there are people that are completely faithful to the art. There are also more and more people that are joining. I have a friend who started coming to watch my karate classes, and after 4 or 5 times, decided to join. There's still hope! Hang in there.

If it weren't for the people who love the martial arts (and Patrick!), this website wouldn't exist.

Kool Kiais: ICE! DIE! KITES! DAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGHHHHHH! KIAI!

"Know Thyself"

"Circumstances make me who I am."