• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Teaching your friends...

A lot of my friends - including my girlfriend, which I'm sure there are other threads on - have been asking me to teach them, and I'm a little wary about the whole deal. I've been teaching my best friend for a few months off and on now, and he's made it to his 8th kyu...however, I'm worried that if I got a bunch of them together, they wouldn't pay attention, wouldn't respect my knowledge, and somebody would get either physically or emotionally hurt.

There are some of my friends that I know would be good martial artists, and others that I know wouldn't be...but I can't very well teach some and not others.

And don't even get me started on sparring...

Advice?

Parkerlineage

American Kenpo Karate- First Degree Black Belt

"He who hesitates, meditates in a horizontal position."

Ed Parker

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

That's pretty much it. For whatever reason, just a group of friends training soon devolves into a bunch of friends whacking on each other willy nilly. If they really want to train, have them come to the school. The sense of formality alone is worth it.

Aodhan

There are some people who live in a dream world, and there are some who face reality; and then there are those who turn one into the other.

-Douglas Everett, American hockey player

Hey,

I agree with elbows_and_knees and Aodhan. Your friends that are interested should train at the school you go to. It would be a more disciplined environment so you wouldn't have to worry about your friends goofing off. But outside of formal training at the school, feel free to train with them and give them advice. Hope this helps.

:)

A good technique is beautiful but a beautiful technique is not always good.

-Hirokazu Kanazawa