• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

why everyone hates Taekwondo

Firt off I would like to say hello, I'm new to these great forums and hopefully I can contribute as well as everyone else.

I started taking Taekwondo about 2 months ago and the more I search these forums the more I hear Taekwondo is bad for self defense, and Taekwondo is just a sport. I believe this art is getting a bad rap. The school I attend is mostly geared towards self defense. As a whitebelt I have been taught six defenses against a front choke all include joint locks and strikes with the hands and feet. Not to say that is all you need to defend your self but its a good start, at each belt level there are usually 4-6 defenses against a variety of situations like front choke, rear choke, wrist grabs, and so on.

Another thing I have read a lot about is lack of hand striking. Also not the case in the school I attend, we perform a lot of boxing drills with the focus mits and with sparring partners.

Sorry about the rant everyone I just believe that taekwondo gets a bad rap sometimes.

p.s. gotta go practice belt testing is friday.javascript:emoticon(':)')

javascript:emoticon(':)')

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 143
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Well hey thier, welcome to the forums. I agree TKD does get a bad rap, i think its because within the last 20-30 years its become more of a sport, and not so focused on self defense anymore. IMO.

~ You first mistake is to underestimate ~

Hi all,

TKD does get a bad rap, some of it is justified, some of it isn't, but then TKD is predominantly a 'sport', especially the WTF style.

The self-defence techniques learnt in TKD would be far better if they were taught and performed with 'energy' and 'liveness" and were Pressure Tested, but that is down to the instructor.

As far as self-defence goes, it's the fight in the dog, not the dog in the fight. :wink: