• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Harassment

Hart

I was just wondering if any karatekas here had to deal with harassment from schoolmates, co-workers, etc because they practice Karate. I'm a high school student and since beginning training, I've kept it a secret from most of the people at school--I don't want any trouble. Has anyone been in a similar predicament.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I think we have all experienced that at least once, even from well-intentioned friends. I myself have never been taunted to fight* and I just just respond to the "hi-yah" comments with a smile.

8)

*with the exception of arrested suspects-after they've already had an "experience" and are in cuffs!

"A Black Belt is only the beginning."

Heidi-A student of the arts

Tae Kwon Do,Shotokan,Ju Jitsu,Modern Arnis

http://the100info.tumblr.com/

Yes. I have a friend that use to think karate was a bunch of hooey. He’s about six foot tall and very strong. One day (when he’s giving me a hard time about training) he comes up to me and says “so karate man what would you do if I pushed you like this”? And he pushes me about five feet backwards. I told him that if that was all he had I didn’t need to do anything. He comes at me again to give me another shove and I offer up both of my wrists. He goes for it, grabs my wrists and says I’ve got you now. The next thing you know he’s on the ground winning like an eight year old that just fell off the swing. I did a joint lock on HIS wrist that really hurts and puts your opponent to the ground. After that he started to have more respect for what I do. I have used him for my Ginny pig so much that I made him a believer.

:D :D :D :D

More Practice