• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Forms and/or katas?

hajimekyu

I have been studying Sanchin Ryu for almost two years.I know only a very little about other styles of karate,but I am curious about some things.I am wondering about the forms and kata in other karate styles.

In my style we have basics,then combined basics advanced(CBAs),then forms,and finally katas.Each leads into what follows.For example,the last basic is a double strike,the CBAs start with a double strike and progress to more complex techniques which lead to forms.The forms increase in complexity,each leading into the next, and become the foundation of kata.The last form is a combination from the previous forms.It's sometimes referred to as the form of beginnings and endings.The first kata we learn is known as "kata called form" which puts all of the forms together in sequence.More advanced katas are usually not learned until the upper belt levels.At purple belt level I am familiar with all of the forms and am working on kata called form,but I am learning only a little of the more advanced katas.Is that more or less the usual progression?

I guess what got me wondering was a reference I saw here to the kata learned as a white belt.For us,white belt is the very beginning and people at that level are working on basics,CBAs and maybe the first form is beginning to be grasped.Kata comes much later.So is the word kata sometimes used interchangeably with the word form in some styles or are they different?

Thanks,

hajime~kyu

The more I think I know, the more I find I have to learn.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt