• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

What do you think about Shidokan style??

NoFear1725681471

First of all - Hello to everyone :)

Well I'm a newbie in this forum and in karate too. I'm 17 and I'm training shidokan karate for only 2 months but I really enjoy it. I know I've started learning it a bit too late but I hope that someday I'll became a great fighter. Anyway...

What's your opinion about this style of karate ? :)

"Tomorrow's battle is won during today's practice"

- Samurai maxim

"If you know the art of breathing you have the strength, wisdom and courage of ten tigers"

- Chinese adage

You can prevent your opponent from defeating you through defense, but you cannot defeat him without taking the offensive.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Welcome to the forums, [NoFear]!

I don't know a thing about shidokan karate, but it sounds similar to shotokan, my style. Do you know if it is?

(By the way, you're never too old to start karate training! :))

Kool Kiais: ICE! DIE! KITES! DAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGHHHHHH! KIAI!

"Know Thyself"

"Circumstances make me who I am."

Shidokan is a great style. I don't know if you are familiar with Kyokushin, but Shidokan is actually a derivative of that style. According to the official website, Shidokan is a "combination of Goju-Ryu, Shotokan, Kyokushinkai and Thai Boxing." Shidokan branched out of Kyokushin in 1981 through Yoshiji Soeno. Coincidentally, that is also the same year my dojo branched out of Kyokushin.

I personally prefer hard-contact styles like Kyokushin and Muay Thai, as well as certain Kyokushin derivatives. The only Shidokan dojo that I know of in the U.S. is located in Chicago, so it is not well-known in the states. I don't know how it is in Lituania, though, but I'm glad you are enjoying it.

Here the link to the official U.S. site for those who are interested: http://www.shidokan.com/index.html