• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Burning in the ankles

Olivier

Hello!

I've been practicing Karate for around 5 years now.

A couple of years ago, something strange occured: I started getting some kind of burning in my ankles. Its really annoying because the tendons(?) and muscles from my ankles to the side of my calf are all stiff and they burn!

I keep getting this burning every time i go to class, doing the basics (zenkutsu's for an extended period of time).

I thought that:

1) I might not be doing my stances right.

I don't think so... I would've gotten criticism a while ago if that was so.

2) My body's either gotten sissy/My body is getting old.

I don't think so either... i'm still 23, very young indeed.

Can anyone help me with that?

I do warm-up my ankles/calf, it certainly helps, but it doesn't eliminate the burning.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Once upon a time, I was young, and thought I was indestructible. I could go straight into a workout / class without stretching, until the day that I strained a flexor. Not nice. That's when I took preliminary warmups and stretching seriously.

Try doing some stretching before you start your workout. Sit down, extend one leg, and prop your ankle on top of it. Use your hands to grasp the foot, and rotate the ankle around in circles a couple dozen times one way, and then a couple dozen times the other way.

Also, stretch your calf muscles.

After your workout is done, ice your ankles, and see if this makes a difference, especially when you wake up the next morning.

If the pain still persists, as with anyone, go to your doctor. You should be getting an annual physical exam anyways, so you may as well schedule one soon. Mention this to your doctor, and see what can be done.

the tendons(?) and muscles from my ankles to the side of my calf are all stiff and they burn!