• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Blackbelt Gradings

neko_shojo

I'm testing for my blackbelt in June and I was just wondering if anyone had any insight as to what I can expect, I've never seen a blackbelt gradinggrading done, and as much as my sensai's have prepared me I am just looking for ideas from other people in different clubs and what they went through for their gradings? I am studying Chito-ryu and Shotokhan...incase anyone was wondering....

"No matter how you may excel in the art of

Karate, and in your scholastic endeavors, nothing is more important than your behavior and your humanity as observed in daily life."

~ Master Gichin Funakoshi

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

It's just a normal grading, a bit more hyped but nothing different. Expect to sweat and be tired after it - and to hype to others how hard it was and how special it is.

Jussi Häkkinen

Okinawan Shorin-Ryu Seibukan Karate-Do (Kyan Chotoku lineage)

Turku

Finland

It really varies from Sensei to Sensei. In some dojo the step from Kyu to Dan is marked by a significant increase in the complexity of the test, in others it is simply the addition of a few pieces of new required techniques and concepts. Your Sensei is the best source of information, or others who have made the Kyu to Dan transition under the same instructor.

In one dojo I attended, this step was marked by almost doubling the time the test took, and the addition of extensive fighting endurance aspects which were not present in those forms in any lower rank tests.

Good luck!

"Tomorrow's battle is won during today's practice."

M.A.S.

It really does vary from club to club.

My test was difficult, but hearing some people's experience of testing it looks 'easy' at the side of theirs. I know that some people's BB tests have included full weekend of testing, special fitness camp, early morning runs, 1000's of push and sit ups etc etc.