• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Whats the REAL deal with martial arts today?

I am not a martial artist. I WANT to be. I admit it is because I became absolutely intrigued with media that I have seen. From ninja-turtles when i was a little kid to Bruce lee movies and finally to the UFC, I have been influenced by this media.

But I don't want to learn to be a great fighter because im trying to be cool. I want to learn how to fight because I ABSOLUTELY HATE the idea that someone could literally kill me or injure me greatly just because they might be bigger or stronger than I am. That is the idea that undoubtly gave birth to almost all martial arts.

So heres my question now.

What REALLY works?

Why are there no traditional martial artists in the UFC today? This year was the first I've ever seen the UFC and I started with the very early years when there were fighters that had traditional styles, but now there only seems to be 4 styles. Muay Thai, BJJ, American boxing, and american wrestling.

Why the heck is this? Some of the home video Ive seen of Bruce Lee was absolutely amazing. His speed and coordination was unbelievable. Are there no kung fu or wing chun students that are willing to compete?

I would really like to know what the deal is.

I know the UFC isnt no holds barred, but you cant always hope to end the fight with a kick to the kneecap.

Can't any other martial arts style compete today? Or are they beat?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 78
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Why are there no traditional martial artists in the UFC today? This year was the first I've ever seen the UFC and I started with the very early years when there were fighters that had traditional styles, but now there only seems to be 4 styles. Muay Thai, BJJ, American boxing, and american wrestling.