• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

TKD Round Kicks

Have any of you Tae Kwon Do practioners (doesn't matter if you're ITF, WTF or AIMAA) been instructed in the Military-style Round Kick that was employed in TKD? I'm currently studying WTF Tae Kwon Do and our instructor teaches us a "Tolyeo Chagi" where a 180 degree pivot is employed, and a knee-whipping motion is utilised to deliver the kick.

However, I recently watched a video starring Hwang Jang Lee called "The Art of High Impact Kicking", and the round kick he demonstrates is similar to a Muay Thai roundhouse, but the striking are is the ball of the foot/instep, and is aimed to hit an inch past the surface. He is credited as a Seventh-Degree WTF black belt, so I was wondering about the lineage of the TKD round kick. At what point in time was this round kick changed in favour of the new knee-whipping kick, and who was/were responsible for it? Or was the change in technique self-evolved. The link below details the differences between the two kicks, just for clarity.

http://tkdtutor.com/09Techniques/Kicks/RoundKicks.htm

I also have the Art of High Impact Kicking video on AVI file format. It is 1hr 12 mins in duration. If it does not go against the rules of this forum, and if you lot want to see it for yourself, I'd be happy to post it here for you to download. Bear in mind that the file size is 698mb, but well worth the watch.

Thanx in advance for any kind responses.

Perfect Practice makes Perfect.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

well, from the link you posted: