• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Getting Power And Speed With Vertical Fist Punch?

isshinryuwarrior

Isshinryu. They Punch with there fist vertical, not horizontal, I'm sure quite a few of you know this. Thing is, I feel like my punches are extremely weak, slow and ineffective. I know I'm still new at this, how ever is there any advice to work on my technique?

Thank you

Oh my baloney has a first name.

And its' name is K-A-R-A-T-E.

Oh my balney has a last name

And its' name is......

Hey! what is it's last name?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The punch comes from the hips more than from the shoulder. The more and more punches you throw, the more you'll figure this out. Experience is the only way to get better. I probably threw tens of thousands upon tens of thousands of punches on my way to becoming a black belt. The Isshin-Ryu punch is very fast, powerful, and penetrating once it is done right. You just need to throw more punches, and get a feel for the mechanics of it.

He who knows others is wise. He who knows himself is enlightened.

- Tao Te Ching

"Move as swift as a wind, stay as silent as forest, attack as fierce as fire, undefeatable defense like a mountain."

- Sun Tzu, the Art of War

The most common problem that I see are people tensing their body at the beginning of the punch. To throw a fast punch, you much remain relaxed and tense your body only upon impact.

Power comes from hip rotation.

What works works

vert. fist, horiz. fist, dosen't really matter. Your instructor will guide you on proper technique. However, he/she will follow a very important sequence in doing so. This is because it will take you, quite literally, thousands upon thousands of punches before your body begins to be accustom to the basic movements. When your instructor sees this happen, he/she will begin teaching you the fine details.