• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Learning disorder

I've taught several people who were diagnosed as having learning disorders.........Some gave 110% effort and I praised them for it and worked closely with them, however some did not want to kiai or threw kicks and punches lazily without any effort.

I'm not a doctor so I'm curious to know. Does having a learning disorder effect effort? or are do they just lack the proper attitude?

What works works

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

While i am not anymore qualified as a doctor, i think i do have some ideas. Having an LD can affect the students differently depending on what LD the child has. Some of the kids i teach (i am actually only an asistant) have LD, but are able to focus perfectly. ADHD, while not exactly being an LD, is the biggest problem we have with our young kids. When kids are having trouble focusing, we often mention it to parents, which hopefully means they will look into it. I am 15, and i have ADHD, but i try to focus on my TKD as much as possible. When i find my self "wandering off" i just tell myself that i need to focus. Trying to nicely but surely remind to kids what they need to do usually works well for me.

I've taught kids with different learning disabilities as well, and I will say it can affect their effort, but ususally only to the degree that they have difficulty focusing and concentrating on what they are doing.

Focus is usally your primary struggle with this group. I start small, getting the to try to focus on one thing without moving for a small period of time, and gradulayy increase it.

I actually had an ADHD student once who could not keep his head still, without looking away from what he was supposed to be looking at, for more than 2 seconds. It was a challenge, but he can now focus on one thing for at least 30 seconds. For most kids, that is not good, but for this kid, it is outstanding.