• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I'm almost too embarrased to ask this on here, but i'm curious. I know i'll regret this later but here goes:

I've been studying the arts for 14 years, Black Belt for 6 of them.

I can tell by watching someone walk and act if they have much training, past green belt, ya know.

Well, we new Chinese restaurant here in town, three guys from China run the place. They all walk and stuff like someone with training. I've never met anyone from the Orient that wasn't associated with the arts, so I really don't know how to tell...

Anyway, would it be rude to ask if they know Kung-Fu? and if not, how should i ask?

I don't want to seem like i'm stereo-typing, but just want to make conversation with these guys.

Any suggestions?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Not all Chinese people have martial arts background. I think in mainland china there is some wushu training as part of their sports activities but nothing too serious. Chance are, the owners have that air about them because they are in their environment, especially if they are taking control from the kitchen as most Chinese restuarant owners do.

My suggestion? Don't go starting conversation with an ulterior motive. People are not stupid and if you are overtly probing then they will most probably not open up. Instead just be natural and talk about normal things. Sooner or later something will turn up naturally in conversation.

ohayo gozaimasu, o genki desu ka.

wow good point with the whole taking control of the kitchen, they probably do move with more confidence in there environment, but i do know what scottnshelly is talking about, you do get that martial arts aura about people sometimes. i agree with siufeifei, just dont have it in mind when you talk to them.

style:wing chun