• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Currently train Kyokushin, should i cross-train Muay Thai?

I am currently training in Kyokushin Karate at a Dojo under Tats Nakamura. I have a friend who has been training Muay Thai for quite a while and is fairly advanced in the style. I was wondering if it would be a good idea for me to train kyokushin (about 3 times a week at the dojo as it is right now) at the dojo and cross-train Muay Thai with him (maybe once a week/once every two-weeks/twice a week depending on our schedules). I figured it would benefit me because i read in another thread that kyokushin is lackin in punches (which i highly doubt, but hey i dont kno everything), knees, elbows and clinches. This is something i think i could learn from Muay Thai.

What do you guys think? I am basically a newb in both styles. I think i could handle learning both, but what do you guys know from experience, would it be a good idea to crosstrain like this. In the future once im fairly proficient at these i would cross-train in a grappling art, but tahts for the future.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt