• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Just starting out in Karate Training

Bama Crimson

I want to begin training in Karate. I would like some pointers-

1) I know there are many styles of Karate. I am a graduate student, and I want to train with a school in the town I live in now. But I know I won't be in that town long term. I should train in a style of Karate that is commonly taught so I can find a new school when I am done with school no matter where I end up.

2) My goals are a) Physical fitness b) to eventually do competitions c) and to hopefully become a black belt (just because I believe if you do something it should be done right). I ordered the three from most important to not as important.

What style(s) would be best for me?

3) Any pointers on how to find a good school would also be helpful, such as what things would seem to indicate that the school is a good one and the instructors are qualified to teach, and what things indicate that the quality of the school is not good.

Thanks

"If you believe in yourself and have dedication and pride, and never quit, you'll be a winner. The price of victory is high but so are the rewards." -Alabama Coaching Legend Paul "Bear" Bryant.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Hi there! Welcome to Karate Forums.

Well, if you're looking for 'popular' styles of karate, then I'd say that Shotokan karate was probably the most popular. However, even if you pick up the basics in one style but have to switch to another style when you move town then don't worry about it.

As for your goals, you'll be able to imporve your physical fitness no matter what style you train in. Regarding competitions, some styles encourage competition participation and other styles are more against comps. However, that's more to do with each individual instructor than the style itself. Styles that tend to compete in competitions include Wado-Ryu, Shotokan and Kyokushin.