• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Own Style?

Hi, I'am pretty much new here as you can tell. And I wanted to ask, about creating your own martial art. Now, I have had alot of experince, I'am 17 now, and I was in Aikido for 7yrs, and Mauy Thai for 4. However, once I had a terrible accident (Ahem, heart attack, let's leave that aside) I quit doing them both. However, now, I've been training myself for around 4-5 years, and creating my own moves/stances. I was wondering how everyone felt about this and if I WERE to enter in a tournament just for example, how would I?.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I think you would have to be with a school in order to compete in tournements(correct me if im wrong).And i doubt they would allow you to use your own style,since tournements are one styled compeitions like karate,tkd,kick boxing etc...unless of course if it was some underground fight.

Normally Creating your own style would be called a Mix Martial Art...but creating your own stances is a new one..

Err... 11 years total experience, you're 17, and you want to start your onw style? So... you started when you were 6.

I don't know how you train and it is possible to get plenty of experience in 11 years but I don't think with an assumed average attendance rate starting at 6 you've really gotten enough of Aikido to understand all of it.

Also, why do you want to create your own style? Are you sure you're not just doing Aikido or Muay Thai with slight variation? It's not uncommon to come up with your own way of applying what you've been taught depending on personal needs and preferences.

The game of chess is much like a swordfight; you must think before you move.