• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Calling all Shotokan students

Dr. Flem

For those of you that do Shotokan or know about this martial art....

From my understanding, it is a well rounded and traditional style of Karate that is great for the mind, body and spirit.

How long have you been training in Shotokan? How are you finding it so far? Is it useful for self defense? How many times a week do you train?

Thanks. :)

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hello!

Well, let's see...

I've been training for about 3 months, and loving every minute of it! I go to the dojo 3 times a week, but not at the moment, as it is closed for the holidays.

So far, I think that getting into this art has been one of the greatest things I have done. I plan to study other forms of karate in the coming years, but right now, I think that Shotokan is very powerful and graceful at the same time. I can't explain it, but even before my sensei told us what style we were practicing, I knew it was Shotokan (I had been reading a book on karate before I found out, and somehow, my eyes kept glancing at that word. Shotokan. *gaze dreamily into nothingness*)

I think this is perfect for me right now. It may sound stupid, but I feel that this style is absolutely "me." I dunno... perhaps that will change with the next art I try.

As for its use in self-defense...

Luckily, I have not had to use it, but I'm sure it would work well.

Well, that's my 2 cents! Thanks for posting this question!

Kool Kiais: ICE! DIE! KITES! DAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGHHHHHH! KIAI!

"Know Thyself"

"Circumstances make me who I am."

Thank you for the reply June1.