• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Wing Chun and Aikido Combo?

:-?

Hi all,

I'm thinking of taking both Wing Chun and Aikido at the same time. My girlfriend is into Aikido and she wants me to train with her.

I've taken Shotokan Karate for a few years but don't like the hard styles and unrealistic blocks. I've always wanted to take Wing Chun since I like the softer blocks, trapping and simultaneous hits. I find this is a more realistic form of self defense.

I'd like you guys opinions on the pros and cons of training in Wing Chun and Aikido at the same time. Is this a wise move? Is it complimentary to both forms?

Thanks!!

Kittyhawk

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Hi

I've been practicing aikido for about 4 years and wing tsun for about half a year now. I don't think you will find much sadifaction out aikido when you get further in wing tsun, and this is why. Aikido doesn't work against wing tsun. But before I can say if it is a good idea first tell me why you are practising martial arts?

greetz Muanh

Hi

I've been practicing aikido for about 4 years and wing tsun for about half a year now. I don't think you will find much sadifaction out aikido when you get further in wing tsun, and this is why. Aikido doesn't work against wing tsun. But before I can say if it is a good idea first tell me why you are practising martial arts?

greetz Muanh

I've tried Aikido, and I do Wing Chun now. I liked the ideas in Aikido but there is little chance it could stand up to a full on Wing Chun attack.

Over all I would say Wing Chun was far easier to use effectivly and far faster to learn.

"...or maybe you are carrying a large vicious dog in your pocket." -Scottnshelly