• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Testing comming up soon...

mattys

I realize there have been enough of these threads, but yeah, I'm a bit nervous. My 3rd Kyu (brown) testing is in the first week of January, which is just around the corner. I've been studying for a little under two years, and I consider myself a fast learner. My dojo sets the bar pretty high for all students, but especially the brownbelt-candidates. I was in the group of my sensei's very first students, and I was there close to when the dojo started, that being said, I am one of the high belts in my class. I go to my friend's dojo from time to time, especially recently, to prepare for my brownbelt test. Just on their friday sparring nights, because I used to think I was lacking there. What was pitiful was that I had a few blackbelts to the mat when I barely broke a sweat.

The thing is, the step from green to brown is extremly intimidating. I've seen many other dojo, and by their standard I would be ready, even they've told me so. I don't really think that I'm ready for this huge step. There's so little that I know about the art, so little waza I have become proficient at. I study traditional Okinawan Kenpo Kobudo under Shihan Mark Jovich.

So, does anyone have any consoling words for this brownbelt-to-be?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

In may travels around the world and visiting other dojo's, I've seen a HUGE difference in skills at the same belt levels. Generally speaking, I'd put my own students against any others most of the time in a equal rank street fight.

Please understand, I'm not chest beating here, but rather I have very high standards for my people, and they know it. They earn each and every rank that they get from me. That's probably why, in the 26 years I've been teaching, I've only promoted 4 people to black belt. They don't get it until I know that they know it....and know it well.