• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Wado-Ryu - Need some opinions/info on this style

Locutus

Hi,

I have the opportunity to study Wado-Ryu at my local YMCA in Toronto, Canada. I would like to know some of your opinions on Wado and whether Wado may be similar to Goju.

The Instructor at the YMCA is ALEX WAITH (6th Dan). Has anyone ever trained or heard of this Instructor? I am hoping that the YMCA lessons will not be like a McDojo. I am already working out at the YMCA, so I figured I should try Wado, as it is included in the membership.

I have some previous experience (orange belt) in Goju-Ryu, but it has been about 9 years since I’ve been in a dojo. I am a little scared to get back into a dojo. I do not remember too many katas, and I just know basic kihon. I imagine that my kumite skills are pretty bad as well. I’ve gained about 30 pounds since then and I am not all that flexable these days. I am hoping that I will be able to improve in the next few months particularly with conditioning and flexabilty.

I have read that there are some jui-jitsu elements in Wado which I find intriguing. Does wado use a lot of jui-jitsu, or is it hidden? I don’t want to start a giant flame war, but is it also true that Wado and Shotokan are somewhat related?

I am looking forward to hearing from some of the “Wado people” and other Karateka in this forum.

Thanks for your help.

Locutus.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Is there a way that you can sit in some of the classes and watch?

I happened to find a Wado class at a college that I'm taking a course at. I went out of my class room to find the ATM and I heard "Ich, Ni, San..." and I knew it had to be some sort of martial arts class. So I have been sitting in from time to time to watch it.

Seems like they do a lot of strikes, using their fists, open hands, and kicks. They seem to do a lot of attacking and counter attacking drills as well.