• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

A bit discouraged..

Wickedwayz

Hi, i have been interested in martial arts for as long as i can remember but never could afford to learn till i was of age (18.) and moved out of my parents house . i studied Shotokan style karate in lake charles , louisiana , USA and have recently had to move to midland texas well the only style they seem to offer around here is tae kwon do and im not a big fan of high kicks , ive called the schools around and one of the instructors has assured me that mu duk kwan is very similar to shotokan , even tho as far as i can tell it is still a korean art can anyone confirm this ? also he offers a style hisen do ( never heard of it ) or does anyone know if there are any non-listed or underground schools or clubs in the midland/odessa area .. thats Texas, btw =D any info would be greatly appreciated thankyou.

~Never retreat, Always advance to the rear.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

...just because a person has trained in karate doesn't mean that they won't like Korean arts. There are several people on these forums who have trained in a Korean martial art, such as TKD and who have also trained in a Japanese martial art, such as Karate.

The best thing for you to do is to go to a place and try it out. However, if you go with the mindset that "it's not karate, I'm gonna hate it" then, yes, you WILL hate it. However, go with an open mind and accept that there will be differences between Shotokan and any other art. Heck, there are differences between one Shotokan club and another...

If you do decide to take up another martial art, then try not to keep comparing your old style with your new. Even if you find another Shotokan club, it isn't going to be exactly like the club you left. There are differences everywhere; you need to accept them before you can start to properly train again.