• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

shorei-ryu vs. goju shorei

plainwhitets

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I am hoping that I can shed some light on this subject for you. The only question I have is are you talking about Trias style Shorei-ryu or Aragaki/Higaonna Shorei-ryu? I will address both, though I have little knowledge of the Trias meathod.

First, Goju-Shorei this system is based off of the Goju-ryu style as taught by Gogen Yamaguchi and was started in Chicago by Robert higgins and was passed on to Donald Baker. The Goju-ryu system is based on the Naha-te style that was taught to Ghojun Miyagi by Kanryo Higaonna who was trained by Seisho Aragaki and by a Chinese gung-fu master named Ryuruko. The Goju style is a mix of hard and soft style techniques.

Next, the Trias style Shorei-ryu, also known as Shuri-ryu. This system was started by an American sailor named Robert Trias in Arizona around 1946. This style is a blend of Hsing Yi and Okinawan Shuri-te karate. It is also a blend of hard and soft style techniques. This style has been very influential in the development of sport karate in the United States and has several world champions associated with it i.e., Mike Chat, Matt Bowles, Susan Wanckett, and many others.