• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Just a curious question?

I am directing this to instructors, parents, what not.

What are some good ways to keep the kids motivated (especially the 11 yr old) to practice the things they need to learn. I know he likes it, all of them do, but getting them to practice it at home is a real quest.

What can I do as a parent to assist them better?

I am also a student, and I practice several hours a day. I try to get them to practice with me, but after 15 min, they are off doing something else.

*edit, I have 3 children. An 11 yr old boy, 9 yr old girl, and a 6 yr old girl.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Being both a Martial Arts teacher and a HS football coach there is one thing I have picked up about sports. You can not force kids to do it. They may love it but they are KIDS first. Let them be kids. If you force them into somehting be it karate, football, band, chruch, take your pick they will almost always reject it.

My advice is for you to keep training. Don't make a point of trying to get them to. That way when they do they will be doing it for the love or fun of it and not just to make dad happy.

Old saying you can lead a horse to water but you cant make him drink is very true here. Let the kid be a kid and play if he wants to do karate thats fine if he dont thats fine too. Hopefully he will get back into it later on when he gets older but IF YOU FORCE it on him he will learn to hate it. NO QUESTIONS!!!!

(General George S. Patton Jr.) "It's the unconquerable soul of man, and not the nature of the weapon he uses, that ensures victory."