• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Just Starting

I'm just starting out with MA. I've done a lot of research on different styles, and I've found JuJitsu fits me the best. My question. Is it standard these days to sign a contract for training. I know it's a good business practice for any dojo to use a contract, but signing a contract is serious business. Is this standard practice for most dojos

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

ive heard of places doing it before. its cool so long as its not some kind of year long thing or something ridiculous like that. cancellation fees, all that stuff gyms use to take your money....

"If an injury has to be done to a man it should be so severe that his vengeance need not be feared."

-Machiavelli

I've only signed a contract once, and that was when I was first starting years back. Looking back, it was a crap McDojo (term we use for places looking to improve the size of their wallets, not your ability to defend yourself).

Since then, I've had instructors that taught for free and instructors that have simply charged monthly dues. These instructors were what I would call legit, though.

That being said, what does this contract entail? If it is merely some safety thing, then I wouldn't worry (although I've never been forced to sign one other than my first dojo, and you can guess what my impressions of that one are...). If it is a contract saying that you will come for 6 months and pay X amount of money upfront, non-refundable, then you may want to consider something else.

Martial Arts Blog:http://bujutsublogger.blogspot.com/

Is it standard these days to sign a contract for training.