• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Regarding belt ranks

I am new in TKD and I was looking for information on the internet and something that I noticed was the belts are not consistent.

For example, my Dojang has white, gold, orange, green, blue, brown, and black. Yet I have heard red, and what is "poom"? havent heard that before. Also, the minimum requirements for each seems to be inconsistent. Can someone explain how I can tell if I am being properly trained? Our school teaches American Chung Do Kwon -TKD

I am really confused about it. Thanks.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Howdy Torris, I beleive you might do the same type of tkd as me...that is if its Jhoon Rhee related. As to the belt colors and requirements per belt those really are based on individual schools. The best advice is to look up your forms on the internet and also ask your instructor about them. That will tell you if they are bonafide or not. But even if you can't find them they can still be good forms. The order of belts and their colors is pretty meaningless. Poom is like the korean word for a belt. Without knowing more about your school it's kinda hard to tell if its good tkd or not. More likely though is that they are good techniques.

Long Live the Fighters!

Hello Torris,

If you are American Chung Do Kwan from Jhoon Rhee and in Dallas, then you are probably somehow a part of Allen Steen or Pat Burleson's lineage.

If so, then your emphasis will probably be sparring/fighting, one-steps, self-defense etc. Also, you should be learning the Chung Hon (Blue Cottage) forms, such as Won Hyo, Ton San, Dan Gun, etc. You would learn one, maybe two forms sometimes per belt level.

If this is your lineage, the past instructors have a good reputation of training hard. Not many requirements, but they will make sure you are a strong fighter and good at what you learn.