• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Beginning Adults: Do you feel silly?

I just joined up with a local TKD school. I really like it and am looking forward to advanceing and learning all the new stuff. The only small issues I have is this: I am 32 years old and MOST of the students are 15 and under. There are adult classes, but often the 12& ups still come in. I feel kinda silly that I am SO much older than those kiids and I am just starting out. There are many 10-12 yr old brown and black belts,etc. I even saw a 7 year old that was a purple belt. Does anyone else feel this way or did you?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi and welcome to Karate Forums! :)

Yes, I did feel a little silly when I first started karate. When I first started training at my club there were only my friend and me who were adults - all of the other beginners were kids/teens.

However, because I loved training so much I tried not to let it bother me.

Because there were a lack of adults to train with in the absolute beginners class, I actually got moved up to the more advanced class sooner than I should have.

Keep on going with your training! After a few sessions you may not even notice who is there and who isn't - you'll be so intent on training.

Good luck with it. :karate:

"Was it really worth it? Only time and death may ever tell..." The Beautiful South - The Rose of My Cologne

Sheffield Steelers!

There are many 10-12 yr old brown and black belts,etc. I even saw a 7 year old that was a purple belt. Does anyone else feel this way or did you?

A question for you. Is there any douibt in your mind that in a fight..I mean a REAL street fight, that you, as a 32 year old adult, couldn't kick some major butt on those kiddies with those high ranking belts?

So tell me...do you still feel silly now?