• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

karate philosophy VS. female vanity.

k4karate

hi all,

i am a young female who recently started to attend a suburban dojo

in my small community. i am new to martial arts and knew that it would be both a mental and physical challenge. i chose to enter it hoping i could better understand myself and improve my mental outlook.

i do believe that i am in good company at my dojo (many students show hard work and dedication), however, i feel like an outsider because i know most of the students feel as though i am nothing more than a vain female who wants to take part in karate simply as a novelty. i do wear make-up to class and am most always well dressed, but that is how i present myself everyday. i am struggling to re-evaluate my priorities and goals, and chose karate to help me with this. i notice that the other female students are not this way, they do not focus so much on there apperence. i've always been thought to take pride in what i look like, but does this go against the philosophies taught in karate? is it really so important that i change my mind set on beauty in order to focus more on my art form?

Yes, I can wear this while doing karate.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 78
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome to the forums! You bring up an intersting thought, "how can I look good and kick butt at the same time?". Well, to be honest, who cares? I once gave private and small group lessons to a cosmetologist whom I knew well out of the dojo. To describe her as "prissy" was an understatement, but when we trained it was all business, and she was a great student. So I say to you, don't worry about others concern about your being well-groomed on the outside, worry about being well groomed on the inside. If others are voicing negative opinions to you it is their problem, not yours.