• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Quick q' concernin Judo/BJJ

quick question , i know my own limitations , and in my eyes this is perfectly achievable , but is it SENSIBLE / BENEFICIAL to be taking Judo + BJJ at the same time , when i have no experience in either , and very little grappling exp.

~swiftbladE~

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Judo will most probably give you bad habits on the ground, however the stand-up portion is excellent.

I'd probably do BJJ for a while first, then start Judo.

BJJ - Black Belt under John Will (Machado)

Shootfighting - 3rd Degree Black Belt

TKD - Black Belt

why would Judo give bad habits on the ground?

I dont know how they would combine..

i train in BJJ myself and i love it, from what i understand of Judo its based on sport and points, and like i said im not very knowledgable on it but isnt it not based on submissions?

As a judoka i would switch the words bjj and judo and ground and stand up so it read

BJJ will most probably give you bad habits on the Stand up, however the ground portion is excellent.

I'd probably do judo for a while first, then start BJJ :)

Luckyboxer,

Judo is practiced as a sport with the olympics being one of the highest venues. The rules have changed over time to improve audience retention because of that. Judo matches start with opponents standing with the objective to throw a person cleanly onto their back. If you don't get a clean throw you can go into groundwork. However you have to work very fast towards a pin, choke or submission before you get stood up again. Submission in judo can only attack the elbow joint.