• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Switching Styles, I'm a rookie again AAAARGGGHH! Any Tips?

So I've just started Krav Maga since my MT gym has closed. Good instructors, good classes and good style BUT :bawling: being a newbie again sucks, especially listening to why this form of kick or elbow is preferential over the ones u spent thousands of hours learning. Also learning the self defense basics that most experienced fighters have long abandoned like two handed blocks and fairly unrealistic choke scenarios. Do I keep my yap shut or do I argue the philosophy between different styles? Do I offer suggestions or wait until I know more? They have an extremely organized technique structure as opposed to my other MA's which were much more loosely practised. Do I ignore the changes and keep what I know works for me? Any thoughts and suggestions would be gratefully accepted? :-?

Donkey

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Interesting dilemma!

One thing that might help put things in a little more perspective (or maybe just confuse you even more), is to consider what if the situation were reversed.

What if you were going from KM to MT?

You would have spent all that time and money learning all the KM techniques and the KM instructors would (naturally) claim that their techniques are "the best", only to have you new MT instructors tell you that theirs are the best.

The purpose of that exercise is to identify in your mind your own biases and prejudices towards the new style. I think I would at first, overlook those sorts of claims, and try to keep an open mind. You'll probably enjoy your new style a lot more that way.

Dean

Dahn Boh Nim - Black-Brown Belt

Kuk Sool Won

"Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die tomorrow." - James Dean