• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

spinning jump kick: Which one? basically, jump as high as you can, and start spinning as you near the apex of the jump, rather than as you take off.

side kick: er...... bring your knee up, push your foot out, and pivot your grounded foot at the toe for extra thrust.

It takes a big man to admit when he's wrong, and I am NOT a big man.

Tae Kwon Do (ITF) - 1st Dan Black Belt

Shotokan Karate - 6th Kyu

I don't do TKD, but I can do a jump spin kick (dee uh doh rah cha ki)... at least I think that's what you're referring to when you say "spinning jump kick". :P

I started practicing for executing that kick by standing in a horse riding stance, and jumping and pulling my feet as high up as I could. Then I added a 1/4 turn to that. Later, I added a 1/2 turn, then 3/4 turn. Eventually, I could do a 360 degree turn from horse riding stance. That is the preparation for the spinning part.

The kicking part was mostly pulling my legs as high up as I could and then extending my kicking leg as I spot the target over my shoulder. Remember to keep your foot parallel to the floor, and hit the target with your heel. If your foot isn't parallel to the floor, you will hit with a softer part of your foot, and it may hurt. :D