• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Sensei Keigo Abe

ShotoMan

I have today attended day one of a two day course with Abe Sensei in Bath.

Absolutely excellent!! :)

Primary atention was paid to Tekki Shodan, Nidan and Sandan and applications thereof. He enjoys employing plenty of throwing, take-downs and arm locking techniques.

I also found out that I have been performing yoko geri keagi wrong for the last 20+ years! :)

Keigo Abe has an incredible presence and is a very friendly and enjoyable person to learn from. He even allowed me a photo op, so that was extremely welcome

I just can't wait for tomorrow and day two!

Excellent!

:karate:

ShotoMan of the Shotokan

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Gah, stop making me jealous!! I was going to go to that course, but I've been unable to do so.

Glad you're enjoying it, though - hope tomorrows session is as good.

BTW, what was wrong with your Yoko Geri??

"Was it really worth it? Only time and death may ever tell..." The Beautiful South - The Rose of My Cologne

Sheffield Steelers!

Day two was as excellent as Day one with Abe Sensei.

I have very much warmed to this man in such a very short time :)

Today concentrated more on strong stances in kiba dachi and zenkutsu dachi. Not so much on length and depth but pure strength. This included exercises with a partner where you had to carry a person of similar weight to yourself, on your back, and in kiba dachi. Then with a partner on your shoulders, you had to perform nami ashi (asd taken from Tekki Shodan)! Yes, quite tiring but still fun!

He worked on body shifting in both kiba dachi and zenkutsu dachi.

Today was also dedicated a lot to the Heian katas.

All in all, an excellent two days.

I was left thinking that he wanted to impart so much more knowledge to us but time had run out!

If he comes to a dojo near you, do make sure you put aside some time to meet him.

:karate:

ShotoMan of the Shotokan