• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Why people are losing interest in Karate?

Jade

I mean...at least here in Italy the dojos are not so full like 10-15 years ago.......i trained in two different gym since i started practicing Karate and after few years there were lack or persons...why that? May it be they didn't get the true spiritual essence of karate?

It happens often when i mention that i practice karate people ask " oh...how many * have you kicked? You're dangerous".......they immediately think you could do unimaginable things....and that's a wrong view...specially for a beginner...

Thinking to go to a karate school only to demostrate you can kick other * or tring to imitate Van Damme is the main reason i believe people are getting sick after few months.

There's a very low percentage of people that understand that practicing a martial art mean an hard sacrifice even if you are an expert.

What do you think about?

"With a bit of imagination, kata can be deadly." - Hidy Ochiai

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I think the media has muddled a lot of people's perceptions.

Personally, I love karate. To me it is a life time commitment with a lot of hard work but a lot of personal rewards. I get a lot out of it. When I work hard I improve, I honestly can say it makes me feel a lot more focused and it's helping me be calm because I'm known to be a hyper person. The people in my dojo are like my surrogate family.

I agree though, a lot of people have the misconception about Karate, or get into it for the wrong reason. I think a lot of people's main and sometimes only goal is to become a black belt. I think a lot of people do get into it as well thinking they will be this great fighter and expect to aquire that in a short period of time.

Anyways, sorry if this post is a bit all over the place, I'm kind of tired today. :)