• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Hello everyone. I had a couple of questions. I'm new to Martial Arts and have no experience in it at all. I was looking to start up Jujitsu because of my strong interest in japanese culture. Needless to say, i'm not in very good shape and I was curious if Jujitsu is demanding. How difficult is it? Right now i'm 18 and havn't participated in any physical activity in the past 6 or 7 years (I know, I know). I guess I want some general information about Jujitsu.

Secondly, I tried to find a Jujitsu school near Lawrence, Kansas but I had no luck. Do any of you know of a Jujitsu school in or close to Lawrence, Kansas? Thanks. :)

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Hi Chrono, welcome to KarateForums!

All martial arts can be physically demanding, but they're also a great way to get into shape. If you're worried about whether you'd be able to cope with Ju-Jitsu (or any other type of martial art) then asking your own GP would be a good place to start. Try starting with a little light excercise before you join a club; even something as simple as walking round the block a couple of times a day will help you to get into shape. If you haven't excercised for a long time then don't rush back into it as you could do yourself more harm than good. Start slowly and build up.

Sorry to hear you've not been able to find a JJ club near to you. If you're interested in Japanese martial arts, why not see if you can find a Karate, Kendo or Aikido club?

Remember, the quality of the instructor is more important that the martial art - you can train in a great style, but if you have a useless instructor then you might as well not bother training.

Why don't you try doing a general martial arts search on the internet for MA schools in your area? Or ask around at work/school/local sports centres to see if anyone knows of any decent martial arts clubs in your area.

Good luck with your search! :karate: