• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I want to start jujitsu

I recently got i leaflet on jujitsu and i've being doing a shokan karate so i thought about starting, i check out their web site, i saw some pictures. im not very tall and the pictures of a guy being toss scared me a little. im 15 and i found out i would be training with the adults. I bit afraid to start. is it really is scary as it looks? :bawling:

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
no,its not as scary as it looks.before you start training techniques,the instructor will teach falling techniques to show you the proper way to take a fall.after you get familiar with falling,your instructor will throw you but will support your weight by holding your body weightup so that you wont hit the mat as hard as you think.i started training jujutsu when i was your age and i remember thinking the same thing.give it a shot,what do got to lose?good luck!

Why punch someone when their on the ground when you can just kick them

Just to re-iterate what Davison said - (I too went from Shotokan [+others] to JuJitsu) - if the teacher tries to do any throws, or anything involving falling without a reasonable amount of breakfalling, they're a bad teacher. Simple as that.

You *can* get really badly injured falling (same as you *can* get injured doing Shotokan), but you shouldn't. Learning to breakfall is essential, and can get boring. You should learn side to side, backwards and forwards.

BUT, Jujitsu is amazing, it opens up an amazing, almost magical world, coming from an art like Shotokan - whilst I had a fantastic Shotokan teacher, who was also a Judo black belt, and a former amateur boxer, it simply does not have the range of techniques available to JJ.

Enjoy!

You must empty your cup before you can fill it - Zen saying