• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

My karate sucks

Thepet

I've been training karate(Goju Ryu) for 4 years now and I'm a brown(2 kyu) belt. I've very easy to learn new stuff, a natural talent as many people say. And I've also been practising kobudo for almost two years now. I have a very big interest in budo so I read a lot and also analyze the things I've been taught during the last years.

I've come to a point in my life were I realise that my karate sucks. I'm training (5 days/week) with several Senseis in different clubs. and with all respect they have learend me a lot. But now I've realised that the stuff I've been learing the past years is just "Martial Art" and not useful for any kind of selfdefence. If we're doing some "fighting" this problem shows up. None of my fellows in any of the clubs can actually fight, even to put up a simple guard against face-punches are hard for them (inlcuding the Senseis).

I've talked about this to some of my training friends, but they all think I'm "full of *" and that they actually would have something to put up with in a "real fight", while I believe they(including me) would be knocked to the ground right away.

Lately I've also had some conflicts with one of my Senseis on how to perform on some stances/techinques. While I practice with weapons while he's not, I've found out a lot of "things that won't work" for me (unarmed or with weapons) and simply changed/modified them to work as I perform them. While my Sensei demands me to perform them in a "wrong way", I insist on doing them "my way".