• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

What belt rank will i be assissting like teaching the class?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
I'm a brown belt (3rd gup). I help teach now (plus YMCA kids). BUT I'm also a 28 (almost 29) year old adult, and I've been training for a few years. In my school it is "supposed" to be black belt. But I've been teaching or "assisting" for years, and my instructor realized I can teach. Belt rank doesn't make the teacher. I seen yellow belts that teach better than some 2nd dans or above. So just keep training hard and helping other students. If you are ment to teach, it will show ;)

Laurie F

Well, I started assisting with classes at my old dojo when I was a blue belt (5th kyu) at age 14. In November of that same year (red belt, 3rd kyu), I became the head instructor of my very own class, a family class...but I had been outright "teaching" classes for awhile. As long as the office manager was there in case of an emergency, I was good to go. At the time, we were shorthanded, so maybe that had something to do with it. Promoting helpers at blue belt was a common practice, but having 14-year-old red belts teaching their own class was deeefinitely unusual.

That was what my dojo was like, but other dojos believe that nobody should even ASSIST without a dan rank, and they shouldn't become full-fledged instructors until 3rd or 4th dan. Different schools and style will have different systems for their teachers, so if you really want to know, you should ask an instructor. I know that's a difficult question to ask, though. Some old-school instructors used to take a person's belt if they asked when they would be testing next, hopefully you don't have to put up with that.

If you can, though, ask your instructor or the other students in the leadership program.

Chances are, you'll start helping somewhere between 5th and 2nd kyu.

1st dan & Asst. Instructor TKD 2000-2003