• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Isshinryu, and Shotokan

MMouse

I have these 2 styles open to me. I have been researching them a bit on my own, and will go watch each when the time arrives. I would like to develop some self defense skills, and have some fun along the way. ANy thoughts?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Ooh ooh ooh --- raises hand like a little school girl!

I studied I-Ryu for about 5 years and have dabbled in Shotokan lately (in fact, I just came from a shotokan dojo a couple hours ago :) )

I know more about I-Ryu but I will try to keep this unbiased.

As far as self defense goes -- they should be incorporated in both curriculums --- that seems to be more of an sensei discrepancy how it is taught -- I've never seen SD standardized. So if SD is your main focus I'd suggest you go with the school that has the best SD program

Things to watch for in SD:

-Control - are people properly stopping locks, tapping out, or are people walking away holding their wrists and elbows

- Is it realistic strikes or are punches stopping an inch from target, held there with no counter

- Are foundations emphasized

etc, etc, etc

As far as the differences between the two styles, I-Ryu is famous for its vertical punch. It's primary stance is called the seisan stance (taken after the 1st kata in the system) --- it is higher than shotokans front stance and lower than a shorinRyu walking stance

Shotokan seems to hold there hands lower in the 'chamber' than I-Ryu does.

Oh, I-Ryu doesn't have any 'beginner katas' --- I-Ryus katas were adopted from GojuRyu and ShorinRyu and they were all brown or black belt katas in those styles.

ShorinRyu and ShotoKan seem to start with easier katas which have like an H, I , Y or K pattern. I wouldn't let this sway your opinion either way -- just FYI. Some schools institute basic pattens in I-Ryu