• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

What does it mean to learn a kata?

Sasori_Te

I got the idea for this post from another that was posted recently. What do we as karateka mean when we say that we are learning a new kata? At what point can we say that we know a kata well? I know the movements and the bunkai to around 20 kata ( off the cuff estimate ). I can't really say that I "know" them though. I'm still learning them every time that I practice them. A new oyo or application will invariably present itself to me when I least expect it. I read posts from people that say they would get bored if they had to do only one kata for an indefinite period of time. Let me pose a question then. What would you do if your style or any style suddenly changed their way of thinking and limited your course of study to one or two or even four kata? Would you continue training or would you quit because you're bored?

I could continue but I'll stop here and wait for your answers.

A block is a strike is a lock is a throw.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I think most people say that they 'know' a kata when they woulkd be able to perform it straight through to someone. Obviously, knowing the movements and actually 'knowing' a kata are two separate things. Like you said, new oyo will present themselves at any time. Plus, the more a person thinks about kata then they realise more about kata, but they also realise that they don't know everything and theres still stuff to learn and discover!

Like the song says... "all I know is that I don't know" :)

As for the sticking with my style if it dropped most of its kata, yes, I would stay with it. Some styles only have a 'small' number of kata to start with, compared to other forms.

That leads onto another question - if you could DROP one kata from your styles 'list' of kata, which one would it be and why?